May 2007

ADA Meeting - May 31, 2007


Members Present: John Baxter, Amy Bones, Jim Howell-Burke, Scott Grove, Stephanie Kokesh, Mark Panning, Wade Pearson, Lennis Pederson.


Unable to Attend: Jeffery Branstetter, Barb Brock, Roselyn Cerutis, Kathryn Clark, Andrea Jahn, Laura Mann, Amy Matthews, George McNary, John Pierce, Rich Rossi.


Guests: Maria Jerrell


Minutes: The April 26, 2007 meeting minutes were approved by John Baxter and seconded by Mark Panning.


Stephanie Kokesh was introduced as a new member of the Committee. Ms. Kokesh is President of SEN following the leadership of Stacy Peitz, who resigned to pursue the clinical portion of her degree.


Mark Panning talked about the task force investigating potential grants. With one meeting behind them, the task force expects to meet for at least 6 more times to find grants for which to apply. The task force is assisted with staff from Grants Administration and Development. Maria Jerrell said the task force is looking first at the Lied Education Center to possibly remove architectural barriers. The task force will look at architectural barriers and program needs.


Wade did not have an update from this task force developing an online education program. He has identified a faculty member wanting to help develop the program.


The Voluntary Self-Identification and Reasonable Accommodation Request Form are nearly done, per Amy Bones. The completed form will be sent to Jeff Branstetter and Mark Panning for publication on the respective web-sites.


Meeting adjourned at 9:55 A.M.


The next meeting is scheduled for June 28, 2007 at 9:30 A.M. in the Swanson Hall Tech Room.