Distinguished Educator in Teaching as Scholarship Award

Distinguished Educator in Teaching as Scholarship Award

In recognition of Creighton's long history in the advancement of teaching that has led us from good to reflective teaching, from Ernest Boyer's Teaching as Scholarship to Lee Shulman's Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, we celebrate our Jesuit pedagogical and campus traditions, by announcing the creation of the Creighton University Distinguished Educator in Teaching as Scholarship Award. 

While Creighton has various teaching awards across campus, this will be an all-University award that recognizes excellence based on "evidence of effective teaching." The staff and associates of the Office for Academic Excellence and Assessment believe, and Fr. Timothy Lannon, S.J., wholeheartedly agrees, that the creation and inauguration of this University teaching award will allow Creighton to model best practices in scholarly teaching, clearly communicate the valuing of teaching as our core enterprise, and advance our efforts to be more competitive in state and national teaching award programs.

The 2014 Founders' Week Convocation will recognize the inaugural recipient(s) of this award.  Rooted in our Carnegie campus conversations of the 1990s and our more recent Scholarship of Teaching and Learning initiatives, this award will mirror current and best practices in evaluating teaching as a scholarly endeavor.

Annually, up to two recipients will be chosen for the award.  The recipients of the award must: hold a full-time faculty appointment at the university; must be at least at the rank of Associate Professor; and must show a consistent commitment to the teaching mission and objectives of the University and one's primary appointed department.  Eligible faculty should be nominated and submit a personal statement as well as their contributions to teaching and evidence of a body of work as an Educator Scholar. 

Important Dates and Information

Call for Nomination opens:   October 15, 2015

Application Deadline:  December 3, 2015

Previous Award Recipients

Noam Ebner, LL.M., Associate Professor-Online Program Chair Werner Institute, School of Law
David Reed, Ph.D., Associate Professor and Director of Computer Sciences and Informatics, College of Arts
     and Sciences

Gintaras Duda, Ph.D. Associate Professor of Physics, College of Arts and Sciences
Naser Zaki Alsharif, Pharm.D., PHD '92, Professor of Pharmacy Sciences, School of Pharmacy and
     Health Professions