2014 AEA Grant Recipients

2014 AEA Grant Recipients

The Office for Academic Excellence and Assessment is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014 Faculty Development Grants for the Assessment of Student Learning/Scholarship of Teaching and Learning.

To view the abstracts of the successfully funded projects click the following links:

Assessing Different Methods of Retrieval Cues to Facilitate Student Recall     

  • Kimberley Begley, Pharm.D., Principal Investigator
  • Shana Castillo, Pharm.D.
  • Amy Pick, Pharm.D.
  • Amy Wilson, Pharm.D.

Observation and Reflection Exercises to Develop and Assess Reflective Practice Skills and Values

  • C. Timothy Dickel, Ph.D., Principal Investigator

Teaching Students to Teach Students:  The Effects of Peer Coaching

  • Olivia Marks, Co-principal Investigator
  • Faith Kurtyka, Ph.D., Co-principal Investigator
  • Westin Miller

Improving Educators' Classroom Management Skills

  • Beverly Doyle, Ph.D., Principal Investigator
  • Lynne Houtz, Ph.D.

Ignatian Reflective Exercises in Natural Science Courses   

  • Gintaras Duda, Ph.D., Co-principal Investigator
  • Soochin Cho, Ph.D., Co-principal Investigator

Institute for Latin American Concern:  A Study of the Impact of an International Service Immersion Experience

  • Andy Gleason, Principal Investigator
  • Andrea Ordonez, Co-principal Investigator

Longitudinal Assessment of Basic Science Retention in Dental Students   

  • Margaret Jergenson, D.D.S., Principal Investigator
  • Laura Barrett, Ph.D.
  • Barbara O'Kane, Ph.D.
  • Sonia Sanchez, Ph.D.
  • Michael Weston, Ph.D.     

Assessment of Video Discussion as a Learning Experience to Develop Students' Verbal Communication Skills in Distance Education  

  • Karen Paschal, PT, DPT, MS, Principal Investigator
  • Lou Jensen, OTD, OTR/L
  • Naser Alsharif, Pharm.D.

Dedicated Education Unit: Creating New Learning Environments

  • Lori Rusch, Ph.D., Principal Investigator
  • Anne Schoening, Ph.D.
  • Nancy Shirley, Ph.D.
  • Cindy Sloane, Ed.D.