Baumann Scholarship

Baumann Scholarship Program


Creighton University
Department of Chemistry
Phone: 402.280.2813
Fax: 402.280.5737

Betty A. and Donald J. Baumann Family Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to up to three chemistry majors per year for the purpose of conducting research at Creighton University. Donald Baumann taught chemistry at Creighton from 1943 to 1946 and 1951 to 1980, retiring with the rank of Professor Emeritus. His wife, Betty, was Treasurer-Manager of the Creighton Federal Credit Union from 1967 until 1980. The Baumann family established this fund in 1986 to promote undergraduate research in chemistry at Creighton University. The fund provides for three $1,000 scholarships each year. The intent of the scholarship is to support research projects by chemistry majors under the mentorship of a faculty member. Ideas originated by the undergraduate applicants and with faculty mentorship are also welcome. This research would be done under the guidance of a chemistry professor. Applicants who wish to participate in an ongoing research program of a chemistry professor may also apply.

Students eligible to register for Directed Independent Research (Chm 497) may apply for the scholarship by completing an application form and returning it to Dr. Bruce Mattson prior to the deadline of October 31 of each year.

The Baumann Family Scholarship was originally a $500 scholarship. As the fund grew, the award was increased to $1,000 in 1990. Starting in 2012, the fund was able to offer three $1,000 scholarships annually.

Application Form & Award Information

2018 - 2019 Baumann Scholars

2018 - 2019 Bauman Scholars


Research Director


Post-Graduation Plan

Robyn Scott (left)

Dr. Lynne Dieckman

final report

Research assistant and then MD/PhD

Zach Frevert

Dr. Juliane Soukup

final report

Graduate School for PhD in biochemistry

Alex Lang

Dr. Eric Villa

final report

Graduate School for PhD in inorganic chemistry

Also pictured, John Baumann, representing the Baumann family (second from right)

Scholars from previous years