CCAS  ::  Political Science  ::  Faculty  ::  Terry Clark

Dr. Terry Clark

  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Current Research
  • Current Course Syllabi 
  • Email

  • Dr. Terry Clark, is Professor of political science and the director of the graduate program in international relations (INR).  A specialist in comparative politics, he received his B.S. from the United States Military Academy at West Point in 1973, the M.A. from he University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1988, and the Ph.D. from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1992.  He is a member of Phi Beta Kappa. 

    Dr. Clark has published four books and numerous articles in journals such as Comparative Political Studies, Public Choice, PS: Political Science and Politics, Europe-Asia Studies, Problems of Post-Communism, Slavic Review, and EEPS: Eastern European Politics and Societies, among others.  He has received grants to support his research and travel from the American Political Science Association (APSA), the Fulbright Committee, the International Research and Exchanges Board (IREX), the MacArthur Foundation, and the Kennan Institute.  He is currently engaged in the fuzzy math spatial modeling project.  The project's long-term goals are 1) to improve the capacity of spatial models to predict stable outcomes, 2) to improve the empirical validity of those predictions, and 3) to provide a touch stone for further applications of fuzzy mathematics in the social sciences.

    Dr. Clark teaches undergraduate courses and graduate seminars in comparative politics, research design, the new institutionalism, international relations, international regimes, the government and politics of Russia, Eastern European politics, Russian foreign policy.  He has been recognized for outstanding teaching by both Creighton University and the Creighton College of Arts and Sciences.  His students have won national awards for research, and several have been accepted into Ph.D. programs in political science in major universities, to include Harvard University, The Johns Hopkins University, the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the University of Iowa, the University of Minnesota, the University of Rochester, and Washington University in St. Louis.