Presidential Medallion

Presidential Medallion

About the award: From time to time, the President of Creighton University recognizes special interest in and assistance to Creighton on the part of a friend, oftentimes a graduate, by designating that friend as a recipient of the "Presidential Citation," through conferral of a special plaque prepared for this purpose. For example, decreed alumni who have been productive in the Creighton undergraduate student recruitment effort may so be honored.

Closed Nominations.

Past recipients:

Leo A Daly
Christopher J. Johnson, Managing Principal, Omaha Office
100th Anniversary

Lasting Hope Recovery Center
Sheree L. Keely, LCSW, Vice President Behavioral Services
10th Anniversary

Union Pacific Railroad
John J. Koraleski, M.B.A., President and Chief Executive Officer
150th Anniversary

Boys & Girls Clubs of the Midlands
Ivan J. Gilreath, President and Chief Executive Officer
50th Anniversary

Rajmohan Gandhi
Engaged in efforts to forge trust, reconciliation and democracy among all people and in battles waged against corruption and inequality

The Cardiac Center of Creighton University
50th Anniversary

Omaha Survivors of the Holocaust
Beatrice Karp, Survivor
Resiliency of the human spirit

Sisters of Mercy of the Americas, West Midwest Community
Norita Cooney, R.S.M.
Commitment to the care and healing of the sick, for their dedication to preparing the nurses of tomorrow, and for their pursuit of a partnership that enhanced the education of nursing students

Boy Scouts of America, Mid-America Council
Lloyd E. Roitstein
100th Anniversary

Madonna School
Jay Dunlap
50th Anniversary

Mutual of Omaha
Daniel P. Neary
100th Anniversary

St. Augustine Indian Mission
Fr. David Korth
100th Anniversary

Omaha's Henry Doorly Zoo
Lee G. Simmons, D.V.M., HON'93
40th Anniversary

Missionary Society of St. Columban
Rev. Arturo Aguilar, S.S.C.
90th Anniversary

Opera Omaha
John Wehrle
50th Anniversary

St. John the Baptist Greek Orthodox Church
Rev. Peter J. Pappas
100th Anniversary

First National Bank
Bruce R. Lauritzen
150th Anniversary

Holy Name Housing Corporation
Sister Marilyn Ross, R.S.M.
For their enduring commitment to our city, for giving people a chance and an opportunity for pride, and for their generosity of spirit for more than a quarter of a century

Saint Cecilia Cathedral
Archbishop Elden F. Curtiss and Fr. Michael F. Gutgsell
100th Anniversary

St. Cecilia Cathedral Elementary School
Bonnie Pryor, Principal and Fr. Michael F. Gutgsell, Pastor
100th Anniversary

Joslyn Art Museum
J. Brooks Joyner, Director
75th Anniversary

Mount Michael Benedictine Abbey & School
Abbot Emeritus Raphael Walsh, O.S.B., President
25th Anniversary

Mercy High School
Sister Johanna Burnell, R.S.M.
50th Anniversary

Mexican Consulate Office
Jose Luis Cuevas H., Consul of Mexico
5th Anniversary

Marian High School
Sister Virginia Silvestri, O.S.M., Sponsor of Marian High School
50th Anniversary

Omaha World-Herald
John Gottschalk, Publisher and Chief Executive Officer
120th Anniversary


Creighton Preparatory School
Rev. Thomas J. Merkel, S.J., President
125th Anniversary

Notre Dame Sisters - Omaha Province
Sister Margaret Hickey, N.D., Provincial President
150th Anniversary

Nebraska Public Television
Mr. Rod Bates, General Manager
50th Anniversary

The City of Omaha
The Honorable Mike Fahey, Mayor of Omaha
150th Anniversary

National Conference for Community and Justice Midlands Region
Barbara M. Angelillo, Executive Director
Dedicated to fighting bias, bigotry and racism and to promoting understanding and respect among all races, religions and cultures.

Poor Clare Sisters
Sister Mary Clare Brown, O.S.C., Abbess
125th Anniversary

Urban League of Nebraska
James A. Swoopes, Chairman, Board of Directors
75th Anniversary

Duchesne Academy of the Sacred Heart
Sheila K. Haggas, President
120th Anniversary

Knights of Columbus Father Flanagan of Boys Town Council, 652
Tom Schmitz, BA'71, Grand Knight
100th Anniversary

The Omaha Star
Marguerita Washington, Ph.D., Publisher and Editor
65th Anniversary

Omaha Public Library
Dr. Ronald R. Heezen, Director
125th Anniversary

Our Lady of Guadalupe Church
Rev. Mr. Joseph Ramirez, Deacon
Recognition of his lifetime of service to the diaconate, the Church and to the people of Omaha

Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Omaha
Scott L. Adams, Ph.D., Executive Director
75th Anniversary

The Omaha Symphony
Fred Bronstein, D.M.A., President and Chief Executive Director
80th Anniversary