Sheehan Award

Archbishop Daniel E. Sheehan Award

About the award: The Archbishop Daniel E. Sheehan award is named for the late Fr. Sheehan, who served as archbishop of Omaha from 1969 to 1993. It is presented annually at the Priests and Brothers Dinner event to recognize a priest or brother assigned to the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Omaha, or to one of the adjacent diocese: Lincoln, Grand Island, Sioux City or Des Moines. The recipient should manifest qualities of his personal life that would mark him as cultured, and a person of high moral principal and they should be distinguished for service to society, the Church and to education. This award was formerly known as the Presidential Citation. It was renamed the Archbishop Sheehan Award in 2001.

Past recipients:

Anthony Michael Milone

Rev. Gary Lee Ostrander
St. Patrick Parish
Elkhorn, NE

Rev. Joseph A. Miksch
Pastor, St. Isidore Parish
Columbus, NE

Rev. Michael W. Grewe
Pastor, St. Patrick Parish
Gretna, NE

Rev. David M. Korth
Pastor, St. Augustine Parish
Winnebago, NE

Rev. Donald W. Shane
Pastor, St. Robert Bellarmine Parish

Rev. James R. Golka
Pastor, St. Patrick’s Church
North Platte, NE

Rev. James E. Keiter, Assumption Parish
President, Saint Peter Claver Cristo Rey High School
President, Assumption–Guadalupe Grade School

Rev. Thomas M. Fangman
Sacred Heart Parish

Rev. Msgr. James Raymond Cain
Archdiocese of Omaha

Rev. Thomas A. Greisen
Archdiocese of Omaha, Office of Lay Ministry Formation

Msgr. Edgar J. Wortmann
Blessed Sacrament Parish

The Redemptorists of Holy Name Parish

Rev. Daniel John Kampschneider
Pastor, St. Philip Neri

Rev. Damien Zuerlien
Pastor, Our Lady of Guadalupe and
St. Agnes Catholic Church

Rev. Steven E. Boes
Pastor, St. Augustine Parish
St. Augustine Indian Mission

Rev. James V. Kramper
Pastor, Sacred Heart, Emerson, Neb.

2000 *
Rev. Msgr. Edward Ryan Patrick Kelly
Council Bluffs, IA

1998 *
Fr. Liam M. Barr, Pastor
Sts. Mary & Joseph Church
Valparaiso, NE

1997 *
Rev. Anthony Tresnak
Retired pastor
Archdiocese of Omaha

1996 *
Msgr. Charles F. Broderson, Retired pastor
St. Stanislav – Omaha
St. Joseph Center for Mental Health

1995 *
Rev. James P. Scholz, Pastor
Sacred Heart
Omaha, NE

1994 *
Bro. William J. Woeger
St. Cecilia’s Cathedral
Omaha, NE

1993 *
Archbishop Daniel E. Sheehan
Archbishop, Omaha Archdiocese

1992 *
Rt. Rev. Raphael E. Walsh, Former Abbot
Mt. Michael Benedictine High School
Omaha, NE

1991 *
Rev. Lawrence J. Dorsey, Co-Pastor
St. Gerald’s Church
Ralston, NE

1990 *
Rev. Thomas F. O’Brien, Pastor
St. Pius X Church
Omaha, NE

1990 *
Msgr. Russell M. Bleich, Pastor
St. Edward Rectory
Waterloo, NE
(Presented at Alumni Club event)

1989 *
Rev. Peter F. Dunne, Pastor
St. Margaret Mary’s
Omaha, NE

1988 *
Rev. James E. Gilg, Director and Principal
Fr. Flanagan High School
Omaha, NE

1987 *
Rev. R. Patrick McCaslin, Director of the Omaha
Archdiocese Diaconate Program
Pastor, St. Leo’s Parish
Omaha, NE

1986 *
Rev. Dennis A. Hanneman, Director of Religious Education
Archdiocese of Omaha

1985 *
Rev. James F. Schwertley, Pastor
St. John’s Church
Fort Calhoun, NE

1984 *
Rev. Frank L. Hoelck, Pastor
St. Patrick’s Parish
Sidney, NE

1984 *
Rev. Valentine Peter, Deputy Director of Youth Care
Omaha, NE

1983 *
Nicholas A. Nittler, O.S.B., Dean of Students
Mt. Michael Benedictine High School
Omaha, NE

1982 *
Rev. Aloysius Joseph McMahon, Pastor
Saint Frances Cabrini
Omaha, NE

1981 *
Rev. Msg. James K. Lafferty, Superintendent of Education
Diocese of Sioux City, IA

 * This award was issued as a Presidential Citation from 1981 to 2000