Creighton Students
Manual Home  >  Typo3 assistance  >  Introduction  >  User's Settings
User's Settings

Contents:

Introduction

Although you may will not want to change your user settings, some of the options helpful.  For most of these to take affect you will need to log out and log back into Typo3 after changing the settings.

Click image for full size:

To top

Personal Data Tab

In the Language & Personal data tab you will find basic settings; your name, email, password, language options and the option to have Typo3 email you if someone logs in using your netid.  Most of the settings in here were created with your account and shouldn't change.  The two exceptions is your email and if you wish to be notified if someone logs into your account. Never share your password with anyone (EVER).

NOTE: Do not change your password.  Typo3 is set to use the same password you use when you log into the Blue network.  So you never need to update it in Typo3.  

 

  1. Your name - this should remain your NetID. 
  2. Your email - please either leave the one there or use one that we can reach you at.  Occasionally we do have messages that we send out using these emails.
  3. Notify me by email, when someone logs in from my account
  4. New password - please see above.
  5. New Password, again
  6. Language - we only have English

At the moment the only language option we have is English.  

To top

Startup Tab

The Startup tab offers a number of options to help you in your work.  Here you can choose to work in condensed mode, what you see when you first login, to see thumbnails of all your images by default, to display help and what kind of help is available.  Finally you can choose how much of the page name you see in the pagetree using Max. Title Length.

  1. Use condensed mode in backend
  2. Start up in the following module
  3. Show Thumbnails by default
  4. Show help text when applicable
  5. Context Sensitive Help Mode
  6. Max. Title Length

To top

Startup Tab - Condensed Mode

Condensed mode removes the page tree from the Typo3 interface after you choose a page to work on.  This might be useful if you are using a computer with a smaller monitor or lower resolution.

So once you choose a page to work on in your page tree, the page tree will disappear and you will only have the menu and the workspace.

To top

Startup Tab - What do you see when you log in?

The default when you first log into Typo3 is the "About Modules" page.  However you can choose to start up in another area.  You can choose to start up in: Page, View, List, Info, Access, Functions, Versioning, Filelist, Task Center, User Setting, Workspace, About Modules (default) or Manual.

So for example if you choose:

  • Page - until you select a page from the pagetree you will see the following  in the work area:
             Web>Page module
             Please click the page title in the page tree to the left to edit page content.
  • View - until you select a page from the pagetree you will see the Creighton Home page in the work area.
  • List - until you select a page from the pagetree you will see nothing in the work area.
  • Info - until you select a page from the pagetree you will see nothing in the work area.
  • About - gives you an "About" screen with some information on Typo3

    Click image for full size:
  • Manual - gives you the index of the Typo3 manual that is included with Typo3.  This manual is geared for a developer not an editor.

    Click image for full size:

In the "Startup" tab, click the select for "Start up in the following module"

Click image for full size:

To top

Startup Tab - Show Thumbnails

You can choose to show Thumbnails by default by checking this.  Thumbnails can be turned on or off when you are in the filelist module.

Startup Tab - Show help text when applicable

If set, some help texts will appear by default. Applies to the "Legend" text in the Access module for instance.  However, this has been set on by default at installation, un-checking this does nothing.

Startup Tab - How much help will help?

You can choose how much help Typo3 gives you by changing the "Context Sensitive Help Mode" select.

You can choose between:

Display no help information: the icons simply disappear.  You get no help icons or text.

Display help icon only: setting you will get small question mark icons next to items that have help.  When you mouse over these you will get a contextual help dialog box. This is the default setting.

Click image for full size:

Display full text message: you will get the full help text next to, above, or below the item.  While this might be of some help learning Typo3, it takes up a lot of room.  

Click image for full size:

To top

Startup Tab - Title Length

The final option on the "Startup Tab" is the "Max. Title Length".  This refers to how much of the page title you see in the pagetree of the Typo3 interface, it has nothing to do with what your users see when they visit your site.  Note, spaces are considered characters.

 

The default setting for "Max. Title Length" of 30 characters:

 

If you set the "Max. Title Length" at 60 characters you would see:

 


And if you chose only 10 characters you would see:

To top

Edit & Advanced Functions Tab

Please consider carefully before changing any of these settings. 

  1. Enable Rich Text Editor (if available)
  2. File upload directly in Doc-module
  3. Disable Popup Context Menus
  4. Recursive Copy
  5. Recursive Delete

To top

Edit & Advanced Functions Tab - Enable Rich Text Editor

This does what it indicates, if you un-check it, you will not get a rich text editor.  You will get a straight textarea, no formatting options at all.  You could still enter text but if you wanted to add links, tables,  images, or even paragraphs, you would have to enter the HTML yourself.

Click image for full size:

To top

Edit & Advanced Functions Tab - File upload directly in Doc-module

We do not utilize the Doc-Module.  So checking this option will not gain anything.

To top

Edit & Advanced Functions Tab - Disable Popup Context Menus

Contextual menus are the little menus that you can get when you click on a page, folder, document or content element icon. Un-checking this means you will not get the contextual menu.

 

 

 

To top

Edit & Advanced Functions Tab - Recursive Copy

Sometimes you may want to copy more than one page. The Typo3 default is to allow you to only copy one page. However, you may change this to how ever many levels of pages you wish. NOTE: the number you enter is not how many pages you can copy but how many levels below the current level that you copy. Each level could have 1 page or 1000 pages. If you have a large number of pages to copy please contact the webteam rather than attempting it yourself.

Edit & Advanced Functions Tab - Recursive Delete

Please be very cautious when using recursive delete.  Even the administrators will leave this off unless there is good cause to have it on.  We can recover deleted pages but trying to recover many levels of deleted pages and content may not fair well.  

If you try to delete a pages that has one or more subpages without this turned on you will receive an error:

However if you have recursive delete checked, then you will only get a conformation (OK) dialog box, no errors.  

To top

Creighton University