Creighton Students
Manual Home  >  Typo3 assistance  >  Workspaces  >  The Process  >  Typo3's Vision
Typo3's Vision

Contents:

Workspaces & Versioning, the Typo3 vision - using an example

We have a website, Foobars International.  The site has a Home page and 4 interior pages, "About Us", "Products", "Hours", and "Customer Service".  

The site has an owner/Administrator, Mary, a site reviewer Paul and a site editor, Peter.

  • Peter cannot publish anything to the live site, all he can do is add content and edit content
  • Paul reviews/proofreads the content edited by Peter but he too cannot publish.
  • Mary the admin, can publish.  She can also edit live content.

So in the illustration below, Peter has edited, "About Us" and "Hours" and has sent these two pages to review.  Paul has rejected "Products" sending it back to Peter to be re-edited, and he has send the approved edits on "Home" onto Mary the admin to publish.  Mary has rejected the reviewed edits on "Customer Service" and sent them back to Peter for re-editing.

However for this to work correctly Mary, Peter and Paul would each belong to a group where permissions would be assigned.

  • Editor - editors would not have access to the Live Workspace
  • Reviewer
  • Site Administrator 

Not only that but most likely there would be a custom workspace created for the editors to work in.  In a custom workspace permissions could be fine tuned to the needs of the site.

So really the above would look like.  In this way as people changed jobs, or new folk were hired, they would just be added to the appropriate group.

Often individuals may cross groups, especially on small sites.

 

Process - A simple example

Or just another day at the office.  When reading, remember Typo3 has 6 ways to do any one thing.  So I may illustrate one way but there is always another.

Peter is asked to change "Where we are" to "Where we are located" on our "Who we are" page.

Since Peter is an editor only, he can only log into the Draft workspace, he has no access to the Live Workspace.

So he logs in and edits the content element "Where we are".  This automatically creates a draft version.

Click image for full size:

Not noticing that he's spelled located locted, he clicks on the Versioning Module with the same page highlighted in the pagetree (Note: Workspace module can also be used for this.  However if you have a huge site with dozens of drafts, it might be hard to find this one change).  

Once in the Versioning module for this page, he will click the small ^ arrownext to the "Editing" in the stage.  If he chose or if he needed to, he could generate a "Preview Link" to send to his reviewer to check the change (the preview link will stay active for 48 hours.  The preview is not accessible from anywhere but the generated link).  However, Peter is sure his change is fine so he clicks the arrow or "Send to Review" icon and adds a comment for the Reviewer "I've added located".

Click image for full size:

Paul logs in to check the change, he highlights the page in the pagetree and goes to the Versioning module and checks the "Show difference view" to see exactly what was done.  He can mouse over the (1) to see the comment Peter added about the change.

Click image for full size:

He could also click the "View webpage" icon just above the checkbox for "Show difference View" in the above image.  He will then get a the preview over the current version to compare (you must have "Frontend Preview" unchecked for this to work).

 

Click image for full size:

He sees that located is misspelled, so he clicks the \/ arrow to reject the change and send it back to Peter.  He will need to explain why it's been rejected.

Click image for full size:

Peter finds that it's been rejected.  He can roll over the (2) to read the explanation for the rejection.

Click image for full size:

When Peter goes in and makes the fix to Locted.  When he does this, it will automatically reset the stage to "Editing", however it leaves the (#) (#=number of comments) there so that the history of the process can be followed.  He's fixed it and now goes back to the Versioning Module to send it back to review.

Click image for full size:

Paul comes in and sees all is good, he sends it onto Mary to publish

Click image for full size:

Finally Mary comes in and goes to the Versioning Module (or she may very well go to the Workspace module, but for this it's the Versioning module for this page).  She could choose to reject it and send it all the way back to editing if she wishes.  She can publish the page (top left large white button) or use the small <- arrow next to the stage.

Click image for full size:

Creighton University