Creighton Students
Manual Home  >  Typo3 assistance  >  Workspaces  >  The Tools  >  Versioning module
Versioning module

Why use the Versioning Module

The versioning module allows you to monitor all the versions/changes on one page, whereas Workspaces shows you all the versions of all your pages. 

There are differences between the Versioning Module in Draft and in Live, we'll explore both. 

An example of the Versioning Modul

Versioning Module in Live Workspace

Click image for full size:

  1. Version
    • Draft
    • Archived
    • All (the live version will be shown with any of these).
  2. Workspace
    • Live Workspace
    • Draft Workspace
    • All workspace
    • Default Draft (for us this is straight Draft)
    • Custom workspaces will be listed after default Draft.
  3. Refresh - refresh this view
  4. Preview Link - if you are working with a draft, it cannot be seen by anyone else.  Clicking this will generate a temporary URL (it will disappear after 48 hours) to this page allowing people to preview it.
  5. Send all to Review - if you have many draft versions this will send them all to review.
  6. The current live version (sub elements = content elements).  Like many things software, it has a typical numbering scheme 1.0 = live.  1.x the x = the next generation of version.  I honestly do not know if they have a 2.0... On Creighton we have a 1.57 (57th version of that particular content element).  You can click on the title to go to the Display versions for that element.
  7. Workspace Versions - what you see here will depend on what workspace you've chosen from the select (#2).  If there is content elements or subpages to this version it will flag you and you can view these (see below). You can click on the title to go to the details for this element in the Versioning module.
  8. What stage this element is in - Editing (bar is gray), Review (bar is blue), Publish (bar is green)
    • Down arrow = reject
    • Up arrow = promote either to review or to publish.  When item has been through at least one cycle the # of cycles appears next to the up arrow.
  9. Publish this element
  10. Swap this element
  11. Remove from workspace - Although this is shown in the Live workspace, it only works in the Draft or Custom workspace.   It will remove this version.  It may still exist in the live version though.
  12. Edit page - only available if element is a page.  
  13. Show Log - Really this is the History/Undo.
  14. Preview page.
  15. What lifecycle the element is in.  Live or Draft (or perhaps custom).
  16. Workspace - because the Live Versioning module shows all workspaces, it will display which one this element is in.  Offline = Draft.

Versioning Module in Draft Workspace

Click image for full size:

  1. Publish page - publish the page and all content
  2. Swap page - you can also choose to swap the draft with the live version.  This can go on indefinitely
  3. Refresh
  4. Preview Link - this creates a temporary (48 hours) link so that people who are not logged in to Typo3 can see the draft page/content.  The link does expire in 48 hours.
  5. Send the page and all content to Review
  6. Publish page - publish the page and all content
  7. The current live version.  The title is clickable and will take you to Display Versions for this element
  8. The Draft version  The title is clickable however you stay in the Versioning module with details displayed.
    • Edit element - edit this content element
    • Show Log - Really this is the History/Undo.  
    • Differences - this section will show the differences between the versions.  It also shows you how much of the element is different (in this case 14%). 
  9. What stage this element is in - Editing (bar is gray), Review (bar is blue), Publish (bar is green)
    • Down arrow = reject
    • Up arrow = promote either to review or to publish.  When item has been through at least one cycle the # of cycles appears next to the up arrow.
  10. Publish this element
  11. Swap this element
  12. Remove from workspace - Although this is shown in the Live workspace, it only works in the Draft or Custom workspace.   It will remove this version.  It may still exist in the live version though.
  13. Edit page - only available if element is a page.  
  14. Show Log - Really this is the History/Undo.
  15. Preview page.
  16. What lifecycle the element is in.  Live or Draft (or perhaps custom).

Differences

In live you can see all workspaces and both Draft and archive versions either together or all separately (#1 #2 in Live workspace).  In Draft workspace (or a custom one) you only see the versions for that workspace.  

You have more publishing/swapping options in the Draft workspace than you do in Live. 

I did not see a way to see differences in the Live Versioning module while Draft does have the capacity to show differences.

Creighton University