Tree Advisory Committee

A Tree Advisory Committee was established in November 2008, with the first meeting held on December 18, 2008.  Regular meetings will be held in February and September of each year, with additional meetings scheduled as needed. 

Representatives include:

Jessica Heller (402-280-2780 or
Creighton University, Arborist and Horticulturist

Derek Scott
Creighton University, Assistant Vice President of Facilities Management
Mary Ann Vinton, Ph.D.
Creighton University, Associate Professor, Biology

Kathleen Cue
University of Nebraska-Lincoln Extension in Douglas and Sarpy Counties Extension Associate – Horticulture

Representatives are expected to:

  • provide guidance for future planning, especially as it pertains to the benefit of campus trees to academic programs
  • review and make recommendations to the Plan, including the lists of Recommended and Prohibited Trees  
  • aid in the identification of goals pertaining to species diversity
  • aid in the identification of opportunities to enhance community appreciation for and stewardship of campus and community trees
  • enhance the relationship between Facilities Management and the greater Creighton community, improving the University’s reputation as a tree steward
  • attend to other tree related issues as necessary or requested

Representatives serve for two years with a renewal option at the end of their term.  Terms correspond to the calendar year except for faculty and student terms, which correspond to the academic year with optional participation from May to August.  Succeeding representatives shall be chosen to maintain the diversity of the committee which shall always include, but not be limited to: the Arborist, the Director of Facilities Management, a Faculty representative, Student representative, and a representative from the larger community. 

The Committee held its first annual Campus Tree of the Year contest in 2009.  Learn more about this year's winner here.  

Tree Campus USA 2012

Jessica Heller, horticulturalist, of Creighton University accepts the Tree Campus USA Award from honorary ReTree Nebraska chair First Lady Sally Ganem, Governor Dave Heineman; Nebraska State Forester Dr. Scott Josiah and Nebraska Community Forestry Council chair Lyle Minshull during the annual Nebraska Community Tree Conference. The April 2, 2013 ceremony was held at the Holiday Inn in Lincoln. The Nebraska Forest Service honored 107 Nebraska communities, seven colleges & universities and four utilities for developing and maintaining a community forestry program. Creighton was honored for its commitment to the management and enhancement of the community tree resource.

Creighton University is a Tree Campus USA

The Arbor Day Foundation has named Creighton University a “Tree Campus USA University” for its dedication to campus forestry management and environmental stewardship.

Tree Campus USA, a new national program launched by the Arbor Day Foundation, honors college and universities and the leaders of the campus and surrounding communities for promoting healthy urban forest management and engaging the campus in environmental stewardship.