About Us

The Creighton University Department of Public Safety is headquartered in the west end of the Schneider Building, which is located on the east side of 23rd and Burt Streets. The department is led by Senior Director Michael D. Reiner and Associate Director Dave Dibelka, with the support of Clery Compliance Officer Jessica Sorge, Parking Coordinator Jessica Weaver and Community Outreach Officer Tim Herron. Public Safety protects and serves the campus community with 21 Officers, 3 Shift Supervisors, 3 full-time dispatchers and 3 part-time dispatchers. Public Safety has a primary responsibility for security enforcement, emergency management, campus safety and parking enforcement on the Creighton campus. The department works closely with local law enforcement agencies to protect and serve the community.

Public Safety is committed to a community policing philosophy in its daily operations. The Public Safety Department patrols the campus 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. Public Safety works closely with the Division of Student Life, the Office of Community Standards and Wellbeing, the Office of Equity and Inclusion, the Violence Intervention and Prevention Center, the Creighton Students Union, Inter Residence Hall Government, and many other University offices and student organizations on safety-related issues.

Calls made to the Creighton University Emergency Line (402.280.2911) go directly to the Public Safety Dispatcher. The dispatcher directs the activities and responses of the on-duty officers and also contacts local emergency responders, as needed. Students, faculty and staff are encouraged to report emergencies and criminal activity to Public Safety at 402.280.2911. Non-emergency calls should be directed to 402.280.2104.