Public Relations  >  News Center  >  News Releases  >  April, 2008  >  April 11, 2008  >  Murray, Chatterjee Take on New Roles at Creighton School of Medicine
Murray, Chatterjee Take on New Roles at Creighton School of Medicine

Murray, Chatterjee Take on New Roles at Creighton School of Medicine

Thomas Murray, Ph.D., has been named associate dean for research, and Archana Chatterjee, M.D., Ph.D., has been named assistant dean for faculty affairs at Creighton University School of Medicine.

The appointments were announced today by Cam E. Enarson, M.D., M.B.A, medical school dean and vice president for health sciences. Murray’s appointment took effect April 1. Chatterjee’s appointment is effective May 1.

Murray, a molecular pharmacologist and chair of the Department of Pharmacology, joined Creighton in 2006. Prior to that, he was a distinguished research professor at the University of Georgia, where he headed the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology in the College of Veterinary Medicine. He will continue to serve as chair of Creighton’s Department of Pharmacology.

Murray has published in more than 140 peer-reviewed publications in the areas of molecular neuropharmacology, neurotoxicology and signal transduction. He is editor of Critical Reviews in Neurobiology and a member of the National Institute on Drug Abuse Training and Career Development Committee.

Chatterjee, professor of pediatrics and medical microbiology and immunology, joined Creighton University School of Medicine in 2000. Prior to that, she was chief of the division of pediatric infectious diseases at University of South Dakota School of Medicine.

Chatterjee is actively involved in research, patient care and teaching and has received numerous awards for her research. Her research interests include vaccine development for human papilloma viruses, other pediatric vaccines, hospital epidemiology, and antibiotic resistance.

In 2005, she was elected as a fellow to the Infectious Diseases Society of America in recognition of professional excellence in pediatric diseases. Among the awards she has received is a 2005 Outstanding Academic Faculty Member Teaching Award, presented by pediatric residents at Creighton University Medical Center (CUMC) and University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC), and a 2004 Distinguished Continuing Medical Education Faculty Award from Creighton.

Creighton University is a Jesuit, Catholic university bridging health, law, business and the arts and sciences for a more just world.