Public Relations  >  News Center  >  News Releases  >  April, 2008  >  April 25, 2008  >  Mooss to Hold Endowed Chair in Cardiology
Mooss to Hold Endowed Chair in Cardiology

Mooss to Hold Endowed Chair in Cardiology

Aryan N. Mooss, M.D., a Creighton University professor of medicine and medical director of coronary care at Creighton University Medical Center (CUMC), will be the first holder of the August H. Bergman, M.D., Endowed Chair in Cardiology.

Bergman served as a cardiologist at Memorial Hospital of Dodge County, 1972-1994, where he helped establish the hospital’s cardiology department and headed that department for more than 10 years.

Mooss will be installed during a 4 p.m., April 30 ceremony in the V.J. and Angela Skutt Student Center’s Mutual of Omaha Ballroom at Creighton.

“It is fitting that Dr. Mooss be the first holder of this chair,” said Cam E. Enarson, M.D., M.B.A., Creighton vice president for health sciences and dean of the School of Medicine. “Just as the donor for this chair, Dr. August Bergman, worked tirelessly to care for and heal his patients, always with the utmost integrity and respect, Dr. Mooss has provided compassionate, patient-centered and evidence-based care to thousands of Nebraska and Iowa patients during his tenure at Creighton.”

Mooss joined Creighton in 1976 as an assistant professor of medicine. He has been active in both clinical research and training fellows. From 1996 to 2006, he served as director of CUMC’s cardiology fellowship training program and director of Creighton’s cardiovascular research program. He continues to mentor cardiology fellows and junior faculty in pursuing scholarly work.

Mooss is a fellow of the American College of Cardiology, the American College of Physicians, the American College of Chest Physicians, and the American Heart Association’s Council in Clinical Cardiology. He has published approximately 70 articles in peer-reviewed journals, two book chapters and 80 abstracts.

He has been included in the “America’s Best Doctors” and “Best Cardiologists” lists. The Creighton School of Medicine presented him with a Master Clinician Award in 2002, and he earned the Transmission of Excellence Award from Creighton’s Division of Cardiology in 2006.

A native of India and naturalized citizen of the United States, Moss received his medical degree from the University of Kerala, India, in 1969. He came to the United States in 1971 and completed his graduate medical education at Medical College of Ohio in Toledo, and Creighton.

August H. “Gus” Bergman earned a bachelor’s of science degree (1960) and a medical degree (1966) from Creighton University. After becoming a general medical officer in the U.S. Air Force, serving as a captain based out of Vandenberg Air Force Base in California, he completed his residency in internal medicine and a cardiology fellowship at the former St. Joseph’s Hospital (now CUMC). Since 1994, he has practiced medicine at the Northern Arizona Veterans Administration Health Care System in Prescott.

“This endowed chair exemplifies my father’s lifelong commitment to Creighton University – both in appreciation for his own education at Creighton as well as the future education of others,” said Heather Bergman Efaw, who earned a bachelor’s of science degree from the University in 1997.

Chair holders are scholars whose talents leave an indelible mark on their fields, their students, and their colleagues. Those who choose to endow a chair know their names will be linked to quality education and research for generations to come.

Creighton University is a Jesuit, Catholic university bridging health, law, business and the arts and sciences for a more just world.