Public Relations  >  News Center  >  News Releases  >  April, 2008  >  April 30, 2008  >  Seven Students Awarded Women in Science Scholarships
Seven Students Awarded Women in Science Scholarships

Seven Creighton Students Awarded Women in Science Scholarships

Seven Creighton University Arts and Sciences students have been awarded Clare Boothe Luce Undergraduate Scholarships for Women in Science, for the 2008-2009 school year.

The students are: physics major Katherine Garrett; chemistry majors, Elsbeth Klotz, and Kelley Wanzeck; and biology major Megan Ruhland.

Last year’s winners who have been awarded continuation of their scholarships for the coming year are, chemistry major Sarah Fredrick; biochemistry major Natalie German; and physics major Carolyn Posey.

The Clare Boothe Luce scholars receive a full tuition scholarship plus an allowance for fees, books and housing.

Creighton University is one of only 13 educational institutions in the country that have been granted Clare Boothe Luce funds in perpetuity. The scholars must be women majoring in one of the natural sciences, engineering, mathematics or computer science; they must also plan a research career in one of these fields. In addition to being excellent students, the scholars must complete a science related research project while funded.

Clare Boothe Luce established the Clare Boothe Luce Fund to “encourage women to enter, study, graduate and teach” in fields where there have been obstacles to their advancement. Across the country, about 40 new Clare Boothe Luce Scholars are selected each year.

Creighton University is a Jesuit, Catholic university bridging health, law, business and the arts and sciences for a more just world.