Public Relations  >  News Center  >  News Releases  >  February, 2016  >  February 8, 2016  >  Trio chosen as 2016 Mary Lucretia and Sarah Emily Creighton Award winners
Trio chosen as 2016 Mary Lucretia and Sarah Emily Creighton Award winners

OMAHA, Neb. (Feb. 4, 2016) — On Feb. 4, the Creighton University Committee on the Status of Women honored three members of the University community with the annual Mary Lucretia and Sara Emily Creighton Award, recognizing faculty, staff, students or administrators who have made an outstanding contribution to creating an environment for women to succeed at Creighton.

This year’s award honorees are:

Sarah Huddleston, a junior from Glen Ellyn, Illinois, in the College of Arts and Sciences majoring in social work and a student leader

Joan Lappe, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN, professor and associate dean for research in the College of Nursing and holder of the Beirne Endowed Chair in Nursing

Victoria Roche, Ph.D., professor and senior associate dean for the School of Pharmacy and Health Professions

In putting someone forward for the award, nominators are asked to consider whether a potential nominee has created an environment supportive of achievement for women; has encouraged women faculty, administrators, staff or students in the development of their talents, or has served as a role model of accomplishment for women.

The awards were issued during the 36th annual Mary Lucretia and Sarah Emily Creighton Awards Luncheon hosted by the Committee on the Status of Women.

Creighton University is a Jesuit, Catholic university bridging health, law, business and the arts and sciences for a more just world.