Public Relations  >  News Center  >  News Releases  >  August 2017  >  August 9, 2017  >  Creighton undergraduates claim biomedical research awards at state conference
Creighton undergraduates claim biomedical research awards at state conference

From left, Rebecca Zawistowski, Alison Guyer, Samantha Stoupa and Robyn Scott, Creighton undergraduate biomedical researchers, earned awards for oral and poster presentations at the recent Nebraska INBRE meeting in Nebraska City.Four of 10 awards given out at this month’s Nebraska IDeA Networks for Biomedical Research Excellence (INBRE) annual meeting went to Creighton University students as the University continues its tradition of fostering top-flight undergraduate researchers.

Awards were given for oral presentations and poster presentations. In all, 11 Creighton students took part in the INBRE annual meeting in Nebraska City.

This year’s Creighton awardees are:

  • First place, oral presentation, junior biology major Alison Guyer (working with Creighton faculty members Anna Selmecki, PhD, medical microbiology and immunology, and Carol Fassbinder-Orth, PhD, biology)
  • Fourth place, oral presentation, junior biochemistry major Robyn Scott (working with faculty members Patrick Swanson, PhD, medical microbiology and immunology, and Lynne Dieckman, PhD, PhD, chemistry)
  • Second place, poster presentation, senior biochemistry major Rebecca Zawistowski (working with faculty member James Fletcher, PhD, chemistry)
  • Third place, poster presentation, senior biochemistry major Samantha Stoupa (working with faculty member Julie Soukup, PhD, chemistry)

The INBRE project is designed to enhance the competitiveness of biomedical research in Nebraska and Creighton has been a part of the state INBRE project for 15 years. The current five-year grant from the National Institutes of Health is about $18 million, the largest in Nebraska history, aimed at increasing undergraduate research experiences and producing more scientists in the state.

Other Creighton participants in the meeting were Katie Sotelo, Oscar Coello, Zach Frevert, Connor Lejcher, Hannah Durant, Dan Pham and Benjamin Ryan.

In addition to Creighton’s undergraduate representation, an alumna, Natalie German, BSChem’09, PhD, who earned her doctorate at Harvard University, was the invited INBRE Distinguished Speaker.


Creighton University is a Jesuit, Catholic university bridging health, law, business and the arts and sciences for a more just world.

A Jesuit, Catholic University since 1878

Creighton University - 2500 California Plaza - Omaha NE - 68178 - 402.280.2700

Contact the Webmaster - Copyright ©2019