Student Employee of the Year

The Creighton Student Employment Office invites you to nominate your outstanding undergraduate student employee for the 2015 annual Creighton Student Employee of the Year.


  • Full-time undergraduate student, Federal Work Study or University Employment, currently working for Creighton University.
  • Currently employed in your department on a part-time basis. Length of employment must be a minimum of six months between July 1, 2014 and the present date.  

Students will be evaluated on the following attributes:

  • Reliability
  • Quality / Quantity of Work
  • Initiative
  • Professional Attitude
  • Interpersonal Skills
  • Uniqueness of Contribution


The undergraduate student honoree will be selected by a team of Creighton supervisors. S/he will be honored at a luncheon and will receive a $1000 Creighton scholarship, $200 gift card, plaque and name on the Wall of Distinction.

 Nomination form Deadline is March 6, 2015

Thomas W. Murdock is the 2014 Creighton Student Employee of the Year


Thomas W. Murdock is the Student Employee of the Year for 2014. He is a 3rd year student in the Heider College of Business.  Thomas is shown here with Dr. Rich Rossi, Associate Vice Provost.


“In his time with us, Thomas has performed as an assistant auditor. He has been involved in all phases of the engagement including planning, conducting fieldwork including audit tests, surveys, benchmarking and reporting. He interacts directly with our clients. During a period of personnel transition, Thomas was instrumental in bringing two key projects to a successful close. He was the lead researcher on a risk assessment project regarding the University’s external reporting of non-financial data (i.e. IPEDS, US News Survey, etc.).  Thomas frequently makes suggestions and efforts to enhance the efficiency of his work. He was extremely helpful in orienting the new professional and new intern during the summer months. He understands the critical nature and value of our work, abides by The Institute of Internal Auditors’ Code of Ethics, and is cognizant of the confidential nature of our engagements and work products.

It should be noted that the Internal Audit Department is not an easy assignment.  Our standards and expectations are high.  Those who complete our internship are better prepared to excel in the professional services project oriented environment.  To perform well here is really saying something.” .... comments from T. Paul Tomoser, nominating supervisor, Internal Audit Department. Thomas is seen at right with Tom Pfeifler and Paul Tomoser.


Thanks to all the supervisors who nominiated their outstanding students.  View all 32 nominees. 

Part Honorees

Past honorees and departments:

Xuhyll Ann Roman - Undergraduate Admissions 2013

Sheila Field - Student Support Services 2012

Elizabeth Boos - Fine and Performing Arts 2011

Joy Chaput – Career Center 2010

Jake Webb – Student Centers 2009

Carolyn Pfeifer – School of Medicine 2008

Kathryn Welsh – Residence Life 2006

Bettina Hamilton – Reinert Alumni Library 2005

Sean Kelly –Dept of Information Technology 2004

Leanne Vigue – School of Pharmacy HP 2003

De Ann Kaster – Athletics 2002

Mandi L. Johnson - Kiewit Hall 2001

Josh Capp – Information Technology 2000

Luke Pella - Arts & Sciences Dean’s Office 1999

Keith Baynes - Bone Metabolism 1998

Amy Melvin - Microbiology 1997

Len Tanaka - Pharmacy School 1996

Trina Fortunato - Campus Recreation 1995

Jennifer Oborny - Occupational Therapy 1994

Anne Cooley -Exercise Science 1993