Creighton University  >  Students  >  About Student Life  >  Awards


2011-12 Student Life Kick-Off & Award Pictures

To view the Student Life Kick-Off and Awards in fullscreen mode, please visit here.

Division of Student Life Annual Awards

The Staff Development Committee within the Division of Student Life began the tradition of annual awards in Student Life during the 2010-11 academic year.  The Staff Development Committee is responsible for requesting nominations and selecting awardees in an effort to recognize the exemplary individuals in our division.


The following awards are presented annually to staff members in the Division of Student Life at Creighton University.

Bluejay Spirit Award

Given to a Division of Student Life staff member who, through his or her promotion of Creighton University and involvement in Creighton events, creates a sense of community and school pride.  Recipient should demonstrate a commitment to our mission and enthusiasm for the Creighton Bluejays.

    • 2012-13  Cindy Fendrick, Department of Residence Life
    • 2011-12  Lucas D. Novotny, Department of Residence Life
    • 2010-11  Mike West, Athletics

Magis Award

The Magis Award is a special recognition given by the Vice Provost for Student Life.  The recipient is someone who strives for excellence in all that they do,  keeps the needs of students at the forefront of their work, and advances the quality of student life on Creighton’s campus.  This award is also reserved for the Vice President to provide special acknowledgement of a divisional staff member who may have persevered through undue hardship and in turn, provides a living example of the Jesuit values. 

    • 2012-13  Angela Maynard, Student Health Services
    • 2011-12  Michele Starzyk, Office of the VP for Student Life
    • 2010-11  Tanya Winegard, Ph.D., Office of the VP for Student Life

Outstanding Campus Collaborator

Given to someone who has demonstrated excellence in partnering and building relationships for the betterment of Student Life at Creighton. Whether working with faculty, staff, students, alumni or friends of the University, this award recognizes someone who continually seeks to explore possible opportunities for the betterment of the community and its programs.

    • 2012-13  Scott Maas, Harper & Skutt Student Centers
    • 2011-12  Steve Woita, Campus Recreation
    • 2010-11  Robert Denney, Campus Recreation

Outstanding Staff Award

Given to an employee whose primary role is to operate in an interactive working relationship with students, faculty, staff, and public clients. They may assist in maintaining the financial and administrative integrity of the Institute, a role critical to completing projects in a timely and efficient manner.  An employee who encourages professional excellence with an outstanding performance and continuing record of proficiency in their area of responsibility. 

    • 2012-13  Rob Anderson, Athletics
    • 2011-12  Joseph Ecklund, Ph.D., Office of Student Success
    • 2010-11  Danny Durry, Skutt Student Center

Rising Star Award

Given to a new member (1-3 years) of the Division of Student Life. Given to someone who demonstrates a passion for his/her work, the institution, and the Ignatian tradition. This recipient should show promise in his/her field, and should be making a large impact on the Creighton community in the short time that he/she has been a part of the University.

    • 2012-13  Rob Johnson, Campus Recreation
    • 2011-12  Joshua Lee, Department of Residence Life 
    • 2010-11  Katie Cannella, Department of Residence Life