Working Groups

Working Groups

Concurrent Ministry Breakout Sessions will present the fruits of Working Groups who have labored to more deeply integrate Laudato Sií and Catholic climate change teaching into the U.S. Church in fidelity to the fullness of faith.



Working Group Leaders

Mike Schuck, PhD
Loyola University Chicago
Chicago, IL

Paula Moore
Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities
Washington, D.C.

Erika Lozano
Universidad Loyola AndalucŪa
Seville, Spain

Vanya Romlin
Newman Institute
Uppsala, Sweden

James Burke, PhD
Lewis University
Romeoville, IL

Charles Dhinakaran, SJ
Jesuit Conference of India and South Asia
New Delhi, India

Jacqui Rťmond
Sydney, Australia

Sr. Wamuyu Wachira
St. Paulís University
Nairobi, Kenya

Vincent Miller, PhD
University of Dayton
Dayton, OH



Working Group Leaders

Stephanie Clary
U.S. Catholic
La Grange, IL

Elena Gaona
Catholic Climate Covenant
Washington, D.C.

Bill Mitchell
National Catholic Reporter
Boston, MA

Working Group Members

Jonathan Braden
Global Catholic Climate Movement
Washington, D.C.

Anna Capizzi Galvez
Catholic News Service
Washington, D.C.

Alexandra Carroll
United States Conference of Catholic Bishops
Washington, D.C.

Don Clemmer
Diocese of Lexington
Lexington, KY

Ricardo DaSilva
America Media
New York, New York

Cari DeLamielleure-Scott
Catholic Relief Services
Farmington, MI

Doug Demeo
Our Lady of Mount Carmel
Carmel, IN

Susan Dennin
Catholic Charities USA
Washington, D.C.

Ed Langlois
Catholic Sentinel
Archdiocese of Portland, OR

Peter McLoughlin
McLoughlin Consulting
Boston, MA

Paula Moore
Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities
Washington, D.C.

William Patenaude
St. Kateri Conservation Center &
West Warwick, RI

David Poulson
Michigan State University Knight Center for Environmental Journalism
East Lansing, MI

Kim Van Oosten
Catholic Health Association of the United States
St. Louis, MO

Preaching for Creation Care

Preaching for Creation Care

Working Group Leaders

Fr. Michael E. Connors, CSC, PhD
Director of the John S. Marten Program in Homiletics and Liturgics
University of Notre Dame

Guerric DeBona, OSB, PhD
Professor of Homiletics
Saint Meinrad Seminary and School of Theology

Suzanne Nawrocki, DMin
Former Adjunct Professor of Homiletics
Aquinas Institute of Theology

Youth & Young Adults

Youth & Young Adults

Working Group Leaders

Anna Robertson
Director of Youth and Young Adult Mobilization, Catholic Climate Covenant
Seattle, WA

Emily E. Burke
Doctoral Student in Sociology and Community & Environmental Sociology, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison, WI

Anna Johnson
US Mission Formation Unit Manager, Maryknoll Fathers and Brothers
Seattle, WA

Teresa Tsosie
Director of Religious Education, St. Jude Parish
Tuba City, AZ
Member of Navajo Nation

Working Group Members

Carla Aldana
Lake County Outreach Support, Faith in Place
Waukegan, IL

Wesley Cocozello
Communications and Outreach Manager, Columban Center for Advocacy and Outreach
Washington, D.C.

Colby Cox
2LT at United States Army and Masterís candidate at Johns Hopkins University
Grafenwoeher, Germany

Brenna Davis
Director of Education for Justice and Environmental Initiatives, Ignatian Solidarity Network
Cleveland, OH

Jacob DeRusha
St. Patrick Catholic Community
Scottsdale, AZ

Kiara DiLoreto
Student, University of Dayton
Dayton, OH

Jessie Dirks
Parishioner, St. Francis of Assisi Burien, WA
Alumni Sustainability Coalition Outreach Lead, Seattle University
Seattle, WA

Adam Fitzpatrick
Social Mission Outreach Coordinator, Center for Mission
St. Paul, MN

Emma Heienickle
Student, University of Missouri, Columbia
Columbia, MO

Claire Jackson Student, University of Mary Washington Fredericksburg, VA


Hannah Johns
Parishioner, St. Stephen Catholic Church
Weatherford, TX

Annie Lalonde
Outreach Intern, Catholic Climate Covenant
Naperville, IL

Brian Letts
Jersey City, NJ

Claire Lucas
Volunteer, Jesuit Volunteer Corps Northwest
Ashland, MT

Mo McReynolds
Parishioner, St. Pius X
Indianapolis, IN

Danielle Morin
Student, Boston College
Chestnut Hill, MA

Billy Myers
Masterís Student, Union Theological Seminary
New York, NY

Matt Naveau
St. Francis of Assisi Parish
Centerville, OH

Shaughn Phillips
Campus Minister, Brebeuf Jesuit
Indianapolis, IN

Juan Rios
Citizens Climate Lobby
New York, NY

Kyle Rosenthal
Catholic Divestment Network, Climate Justice at Boston College
Rochester, NY

Nicholas Schmitz
Washington, DC

Laura Sheehan
Archdiocese of Indianapolis
Indianapolis, IN

Heidi Villaluz
Archdiocese of Los Angeles Young Adult Ministry Solidarity Community
Los Angeles, CA

Andrea Wong Magnalardo
Masterís Student in Urban Planning, Columbia University
New York, NY

Samantha Yanity
Justice Educator, Intercommunity Peace and Justice Center
Seattle, WA

Creation Care Teams

Creation Care Teams

Working Group Leaders

Paz Artaza-Regan
Program Manager, Creation Care Teams
Catholic Climate Covenant

Kayla Jacobs
Director of Programs, Laudato Sií Ministries
Diocese of Joliet

Philip J. Sakimoto, PhD
Creation Care Team, St. Pius X Catholic Church, Granger, IN
Director, Minor in Sustainability, University of Notre Dame

Catherine Wright, PhD
Associate Professor, Wingate University
Care for Creation Ministry Team Lead at St. Matthew Parish, NC

Working Group Members

Patrick Barredo
Director of Social Outreach and Advocacy
St. James Cathedral, Seattle, WA

Julian E. Brown 
Laudato Sií Ministry of St. Francis of Assisi Parish, Bolingbrook, Illinois 
Diocese of Joliet, Illinois 

Lorraine Delehanty
St. Thomas More Parish, Care for Creation Ministry, St. Paul, MN
Archdiocese of St. Paul and Minneapolis 

Fr. Emmet Farrell
Director of Creation Care Ministry
Diocese of San Diego

Roger Ingersoll
St Anthony of Padua - The Woodlands
Galveston-Houston Archdiocese

Cathie Kwasneski
St. Clare of Assisi Creation Care Team
Monroe, WI

Paul Litwin
Leader of Saint Francis of Assisi Ministry 
St. John the Evangelist parish
Archdiocese of Seattle 

Fran Ludwig
Chair, Boston Chapter, Global Catholic Climate Movement
Co-chair, Faith and Environment Group, Lexington MA Catholic Community

Jim Myres, OFS
Archdiocese of Cincinnati Care for Creation Task Force
JPIC Animator, Holy Trinity Region, Secular Franciscan Order

Andrew Panelli
St. Elizabeth Seton Creation Care Team
Archdiocese of Chicago

Rose Schneider
Shrine of the Sacred Heart Care for Creation Team
Archdiocese of Washington