Ashton Welch History Fellows

Ashton Welch History Fellows Program

The Department of History inaugurated the Ashton Welch History Fellows Program in 2015. Thanks to a generous gift from a Creighton History alum, the department offers  two fellowships to incoming freshman history students each year. The Welch Fellows Program provides funding, mentoring, and supplemental programming to support undergraduate historical scholarship and career preparation, regardless of the long-term career  plans of the recipients. The program also honors the achievements of a respected and long-serving member of the faculty, Dr. Ashton Welch.
Fellows receive $2,500 per year for up to four years ($10,000 total) for educational expenses. These expenses may include tuition, internship stipends, research funds,  subsidies for Creighton study abroad programs, and other pre-approved activities. Fellows have faculty mentors and are invited to participate in special programming like meetings with visiting scholars and career preparation workshops.
The Creighton University Department of History encourages students to pursue their interests and discover new ones through active engagement in historical inquiry. Students  will not just study history; they will do it. We seek highly motivated students who have the desire to engage in classroom debate, to explore archives and museums, and to speak with participants in important historical events. We offer mentored research opportunities  with influential scholars; internships in cultural institutions and businesses; study abroad in Ireland, the Philippines, and other countries; the chance to present and publish original work in a variety of venues; and an innovative program in Digital Humanities.
Applications for the Ashton Welch History Fellows Program can be submitted online through the Creighton Admissions Student Portal.

For questions and additional information, please contact:

Dr. Tracy Leavelle
Associate Dean for Humanities and Fine Arts


Dr. John Calvert, Chair
Department of History

Current Welch Fellows

Megan Brookhouser (Class of 2019)
Katherine Consola (Class of 2019)
Mallory Cranwell (Class of 2019)