CSU Fellowship

2018 CSU Fellows Program

(pictured: 2015 Fellows)

The Creighton Students Union Presidential Fellowship enters its sixth year in the 2018-2019 school year. The Creighton Students Union is the comprehensive student government at Creighton University - all nine schools and colleges have representation within CSU. The CSU Presidential Fellowship gives first semester students the opportunity to become involved with student government before our annual elections in November.

The Presidential Fellows will have the unique opportunity to develop their leadership skills through networking with current student leaders, Creighton administrators, and Omaha community leaders. Presidential Fellows will also partake in an Ignatian Leadership seminar and begin to explore the underlying values that explain why they believe what they believe.

The Presidential Fellowship consist of about twenty first-year Creighton students who will take part in leadership development programs, experience the ins and outs of CSU programming, legislate on the behalf of the Class of 2022, and much more. The Presidential Fellows will meet with the President of the Creighton Students Union on Wednesday evenings in Room 209 of the Skutt Student Center at 6:00pm.

The Leadership Development aspect of the CSU Fellowship has been broken down into three categories. Guest speakers will attend our weekly meetings and speak about leadership as it relates to one of the three categories (see below).

Creighton Leadership
The first several weeks of the semester focus on getting acclimated to the Creighton Community and what it means to be a student at a Jesuit institution. Before they can really learn about being a leader on campus, they must first learn what it means to be a student on a campus as unique as Creighton.

Personal Development & Leadership
The second segment of the semester focuses on the personal piece of being a leader at Creighton and beyond. Students will be able to discover their own unique leadership style and determine how to most effectively relay that to their peers. These sessions will include presentations on personal branding, strengths & weaknesses, and professionalism.

Application to the Future: Setting the World on Fire
The semester concludes with a segment devoted to looking toward the future, and different options for leadership during the fellows' time at Creighton and beyond. Once the fellows have developed their leadership style and understand how they lead most effectively, they can begin seriously considering getting involved in executive positions within campus organizations. Sessions during this period will include student leadership panels, alumni reflections, and communications sessions.

Confirmed Speaker List
Creighton University President Fr. Daniel Hendrickson                                      Creighton University Administrators                                                                   Members of the Creighton Jesuit Community                                                     Creighton Student Leaders                                                                                 Omaha Community Leaders                                                                                Creighton Faculty & Staff

Dates to Remember

Meeting Dates: Wednesday (Beginning August 22, 2018), 6:00 PM, Skutt 209

Priority Move-In Day: Friday, August 17, 2018 at 5:00pm
*All CSU Fellows will be given move-in times on Friday.

Welcome Lunch and Reception: Saturday, August 18, 2018
*The CSU Executive Committee will host a lunch for all Fellows and their families on Saturday, August 18th (Harper 3023). We encourage all to attend to kick-off the program and network with student leaders and Creighton administrators before the program officially begins on August 22nd.

Please direct any and all questions to the President of the Creighton Students Union, Patrick Marta (csupres@creighton.edu).

2017 Presidential Fellows

Dylan Ellis |

Tom Englehart |

Joe Harvey |

Hannah Hurst | 

Anna Johnson|

Megan Kowalski |

Kai Miles |

Devyn Munar|

Nick Noble 

Tommy Steveken |

Matthew Straeker |

Joe Summers | 

Netsy Tanner |