Bruce D. Rasmussen
Bruce Rasmussen, Creighton athletic director

Bruce D. Rasmussen

Director of Athletics

The 2016–2017 vice chair and 2017–2018 chairman of the highly esteemed NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee, Bruce D. Rasmussen enters his 23rd year as director of athletics, and 37th overall at Creighton University.

A member of the College World Series of Omaha, Inc., Executive Committee, Rasmussen continues to play a vital role in Creighton and the city of Omaha remaining as host of the College World Series. He was one of six individuals on the CWS Oversight Committee that helped decide the location for the new downtown TD Ameritrade Park Omaha, which will help keep the CWS in Omaha for another 25 years. 

Rasmussen was one of four regional winners from the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics to take home a 2004 GeneralSports TURF Systems AD of the Year Award. In both 2010 and 2015, Rasmussen was honored with an Under Armour AD of the Year award by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics. In 2008, he was inducted into the Omaha Sports Hall of Fame.

Rasmussen accepted the associate athletics director position in 1992 after a 12-year run as the winningest coach in Creighton women’s basketball history (196-147) that culminated in the program’s historic 1991–1992 season (28-4) and a first-round NCAA Tournament victory in the program’s first-ever trip to the “Big Dance.”