July 18, 2016

July 18, 2016

The NCAA announced today that Creighton University Director of Athletics Bruce Rasmussen has been named vice chair of the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee for the 2016-2017 season, and will be the chair for 2017-2018. Bruce was  nominated by his colleagues on the committee at last week’s annual summer meeting in Park City, Utah.

Please join me in congratulating Bruce on this prestigious appointment. In announcing the selection, the NCAA noted Bruce’s exemplary leadership abilities, his skills at overseeing the athletic department, his unique perspective as a former head coach, and  his engagement in a wide range of operational issues. The appointment brings national recognition to our athletics department and to Creighton University.

In accepting the appointment, Bruce extends his thanks and deep appreciation for the support of his family, our coaches and athletic department staff, and the entire Creighton University community.

Bruce has served as director of athletics at Creighton for 22 years. Prior to that, he spent 12 seasons as head coach of the women’s basketball team. After the 1991-92 season, Bruce was named associate athletics director and just two years later was elevated  to his current role. A 2008 inductee into the Omaha Sports Hall of Fame and an executive director of College World Series of Omaha, Inc., Bruce oversees a Creighton athletic department that serves as host of the CWS, which has drawn more than 300,000 fans  to the community each of the past 11 years.

Congratulations, Bruce. We wish you well with this new appointment. 


Rev. Daniel Hendrickson, SJ