about the office of the provost

Provost Thomas “Tom” F. Murray

Tom Murray, PhD brings more than 34 years of academic experience to the provost position. Dr. Murray joined Creighton University as the chair of the Department of Pharmacology in the School of Medicine in 2006. He served as interim provost from July 1, 2016, until his permanent appointment on May 1, 2017.

Prior to coming to Creighton, he was at the University of Georgia, where he was Distinguished Research Professor and head of the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology of the College of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Murray was trained as a molecular pharmacologist at the University of Washington. He spent two years at the National Institute of Mental Health in Washington, D.C. as a pharmacology research associate program fellow.

Prior to assuming leadership of the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology at the University of Georgia, Dr. Murray served on the faculty of the colleges of pharmacy at Washington State University and Oregon State University for 16 years. Pharmacy students recognized him as teacher of the year on three occasions while he was on the faculty of Oregon State University.

Active in research, he has published more than 180 publications in the areas of signal transduction and neuropharmacology, and, as a co-investigator or principal investigator, has had continuous funding from the the National Institutes of Health since 1986. He has served as an editorial board member for Neuropharmacology (1986-1992); the editor of Critical Reviews in Neurobiology (2002-2007); a member of the National Institute on Drug Abuse Biomedical Research Review Committee (Pharmacology II); an ad hoc member of the NIH IFCN Review Committee; and is a current member of the National Institute on Drug Abuse Training and Career Development Committee.

His extensive administrative experience includes appointments as the associate dean for research in the School of Medicine (2008-present), as associate vice president for Health Sciences Research (2011-13) and as associate vice provost for Research and Scholarship (2013-present) at Creighton University. He recently completed his 19th year as a chair of an academic department.