Public Relations  >  News Center  >  News Releases  >  January 2011  >  January 25, 2011  >  Martin Luther King, Jr. Remembered, Honored at Creighton Event
Martin Luther King, Jr. Remembered, Honored at Creighton Event

Several community and student awards were presented at the Martin Luther King Jr. Awards and Recognition ceremony on Monday, Jan. 17, as well as awards in a University-sponsored elementary school poster and essay contest.

The Martin Luther King Jr. Legacy Award, which honors individuals who have lived up to Dr. King’s legacy in the areas of social justice and civil rights advocacy, was awarded to the Rev. Everett Reynolds and Karen Jenkins, Ph.D., posthumously.

The Martin Luther King Jr. Committee made a surprise presentation of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Visionary Award to the Rev. John P. Schlegel, S.J., Creighton president, for his advocacy for Dr. King’s ideals and his long-term commitment to diversity and service for others.

Winners from the Creighton Adopt-a-School poster and essay contest, which involved students creating posters and writing essays that reflect Dr. King’s ideals, included:

Poster contest winners:

  • DeJa Johnson, first place, and Subhranshu Banerjee, second place, Conestoga Magnet Center.

  • Harvey Burtley, first place, and Henry Lewis, second place, Jesuit Middle School.

  • Jachael Thompson, first place, and Blandon Grayer, second place, Kellom Academy.

Essay contest winners:

  • DeShawn Harris, first place, and Sean Sloan, second place, Conestoga Magnet Center.

  • Hector Gonzalez, first place, and Dwayne Brown, second place, Kellom Academy.

  • Rachel Angeli, first place, and Shantae Tucker, second place, Liberty Elementary.

  • Tyler Welchen, first place, and Kyree Eilebb, second place, Jesuit Middle School.

The Martin Luther King Jr. Student Leadership Award is given annually to Creighton students who put the ideals of Dr. King into practice. Winners this year included: Ana Heck, Arts and Sciences senior; Citlalli Pliego, Emergency Medical Services senior; Eric Svingen, Arts and Sciences senior; and Guillermo Guzman, law school first-year student.

Added to his year’s ceremony was the announcement of the winners of the John P. Schlegel Diversity Awards for Excellence and Innovation. The award acknowledges an individual or group that has supported or advanced diversity on the Creighton campus and if appropriate within our communities. There were three winners this year: School of Pharmacy and Health Professions Office of Interprofessional Scholarship, Service and Education; Stephanie Wernig, Ph.D. director of Institutional Research and Ashton Welch, Ph. D., former Creighton faculty member posthumously.

Creighton University is a Jesuit, Catholic university bridging health, law, business and the arts and sciences for a more just world.