Close Menu

Departmental Awards

Each year, the Department of History recognizes academic excellence and service to the department and community with a number of awards, described below.

The Allan M. Schleich-Eileen B. Lieben award is designed to honor Mrs. Lieben and to perpetuate the memory of Dr. Schleich. Dr. Schleich joined the History Department in 1946. Over the course of his thirty-five years within the department, he was an avid promoter of the discipline of history, the College of Arts and Sciences, the University, and the Omaha community. Dr. Schleich expected all to participate beyond their duties or requirements at the university. Dean Lieben was the second Dean of Women and the first female to become Associate Vice-President of Student Services. She was an advocate for female students and was a model and a mentor to women on campus.

This award is the most prestigious bestowed on students each year and it recognizes the outstanding achievements in scholarship, leadership, and service that exemplify the qualities of Dr. Allan M. Schleich and Dean Eileen Lieben.

The Warren G. Kneer Award honors Dr. Warren G. Kneer and the service he demonstrated in his career at Creighton University. Dr. Kneer received his B.A. (1952) and (M.A.) 1957 from Creighton University, and his Ph.D. from Michigan State University in 1966. The following year, he returned to his alma mater and taught the history of the Civil War, the United States Constitution, and American foreign policy for 25 years, before retiring in 1993. He served as department chair from 1982-1985 and again from 1987-1988. The award promotes and rewards extracurricular, history-related service with the department, university, public groups, and organizations.

The Joseph R. Robbie Awards are given by the Department of History through the generosity of the late Joseph Robbie. Annual awards are given to the outstanding first-year student in each section of the history-related Critical Issues in Human Inquiry courses. Joseph Robbie was the founder and owner of the champion Miami Dolphins of the National Football League. He was also the builder and owner of the Joe Robbie Stadium. After Mr. Robbie's death, the new owners renamed the stadium, Pro Player Stadium. In 1987, Joe Robbie received an honorary Ph.D. from Creighton. Mr. Robbie's daughter, Janet, and granddaughter, Lisa, both graduated from the College of Arts & Sciences. His grandson, John, graduated from Creighton Law School.

The Thomas A. Grennan Awards are presented annually through the generosity of Thomas A. Grennan, BA ‘75, JD ‘78. The award is given by the department to honor outstanding performances in a core section of Global Perspectives in History.

The Jefferson-Mullen Award is now given to the student who submits the best essay in American history during the academic year. Originally, the award recognized the best essay submitted on the life or works of Thomas Jefferson. It is made at the bequest of Arthur F. Mullen, Sr., Omaha attorney and national political figure, in a gift to Creighton University in 1926.

This scholarship, endowed by Dr. Ross C. Horning, Professor of History, is awarded by the Department of History in conjunction with the Financial Aid Office to a history major. In addition to academic excellence, the student also must demonstrate a background of work experience. The scholarship may be renewed.

Contact Information

Department Office
216 Dowling Hall
Humanities Center
Phone: 402.280.2884
Fax: 402.280.1454

Department Chair
Dr. Michael Hawkins
Phone: 402.280.2653

Mailing Address
Department of History
2500 California Plaza
Omaha NE 68178