University Research Award

University Research Award

About the Award

The University Research Award is presented annually at the President's Convocation to recognize faculty for outstanding research and creative work. Nominations are due by Friday, January 12, 2018.

Nominees must have a demonstrated record of nationally and internationally recognized research or creative work; must have engaged in scholarship that provides significant contributions to their profession or discipline; and must have a record of research and publication/creative accomplishment while at Creighton University. Nominations can come from any faculty member or department chair/school director in the University. The University Research Council recommends awarding two faculty each year with one in the health sciences and one in a non-health science area.

The nomination package must include:

  • a nominee's statement
  • full career vita
  • an endorsement letter by a faculty member or department chair/school director, and
  • at least one (but no more than three) external letter(s) of support.

Submit a nomination online

Past Recipients

Nancy Hanson, Ph.D., Professor of Medical Microbiology & Immunology, School of Medicine
Michael J. Kelly, J.D., Professor of Law, Senator Allen A. Sekt Endowed Chair in Law, School of Law

Amy Badura Brack, Ph.D., Professor of Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences
Yaping Tu, Ph.D., Professor of Pharmacology, School of Medicine

David L. Sidebottom, Ph.D., Professor and Assistant Chair, Department of Physics - College of Arts and Sciences


Henry T. Lynch, M.D., Professor of Medicine, Chair of Preventative Medicine and Public Health - School of Medicine
Greg W. Zacharias, Ph.D., Professor of English and American Literature - College of Arts and Sciences

Martin R. Hulce, Ph.D., Professor of Chemistry - College of Arts and Sciences
J. Chris Gallagher, M.D., Professor of Medicine and Director, Bone Metabolism Unit - School of Medicine

Juliane Strauss-Soukup, Ph.D., BSChm'93, College of Arts and Sciences - Academic Affairs
Robert R. Recker, M.D., MD'63, Professor of Medicine - Health Sciences

Devendra K. Agrawal, Ph.D., MBA'04, MS'05, School of Medicine

Michael G. Cherney, Ph.D., College of Arts and Sciences

Joan M. Lappe, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, Professor of Nursing and Professor of Medicine