David P. Mullins, MFA

David P. Mullins, MFA

David P. Mullins, MFA

Associate Professor
Assistant Director, Summer School in Ireland, Trinity College, Dublin
College of Arts and Sciences


  • Creative Writing (Fiction)

Academic Appointments


  • English


  • Associate Professor


David Philip Mullins grew up in Las Vegas, Nevada, and is the author of Greetings from Below: Stories, which won both the Mary McCarthy Prize in Short Fiction and the International Walter Scott Prize for Short Stories.  He is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, and his fiction has appeared in The Yale Review, The Massachusetts Review, New England Review, and elsewhere.  He has received the Silver Pen Award from the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame, the Dorothy and Granville Hicks Residency in Literature from Yaddo, an Individual Artist Fellowship in Literature from the Nebraska Arts Council, and a Creative Writing Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts.  He is at work on a novel.

Publications and Presentations


  • , Sarabande Books


  • , Post Road, number 26
  • , volume, 6, number 1
  • , volume 25, issue 1
  • , number 55
  • , volume 50, number 3
  • , volume 97, number 4
  • , volume 29, number 2
  • , Cimarron Review, issue 49
  • , volume 25, number 3
  • , volume 21, number 2

Editing and Reviews

  • , volume 23, issue 1


Awards and Honors

  • Creative Writing Fellowship, National Endowment for the Arts, 2016
  • Finalist, William Faulkner-William Wisdom Creative Writing Competition, “Novel-in-Progress” category, Pirate’s Alley Faulkner Society, 2016
  • Guest Judge, 2014
  • "Arboretum" anthologized in Road to Nowhere and Other New Stories from the Southwest, University of New Mexico Press, 2013
  • Silver Medal, "Short Story Fiction" category, Independent Publisher Book Awards, 2013
  • Finalist, James Jones First Novel Fellowship, James Jones Literary Society/Wilkes University, 2013
  • Finalist, Eric Hoffer Award, Grand Prize, 2013
  • Guest Judge, 2012
  • Individual Artist Fellowship in Literature, Nebraska Arts Council, 2012
  • Notable Western Story of the Year, Best of the West 2011, University of Texas Press, 2011
  • Silver Pen Award, Nevada Writers Hall of Fame, 2011
  • IGGY Award, Center for Student Success and Retention, Creighton University, 2011
  • Pushcart Prize, 2010
  • International Walter Scott Prize for Short Stories, Salt Publishing, 2010
  • Mary McCarthy Prize in Short Fiction (selected by David Means), Sarabande Books, 2009
  • Finalist, Katharine Bakeless Nason Fiction Prize, Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, 2009
  • Finalist, Hudson Prize, Black Lawrence Press, 2009
  • University of Texas Press, 2009
  • Stanley Elkin Scholarship, Sewanee Writers' Conference, 2008
  • Pushcart Prize, 2008
  • Dorothy and Granville Hicks Residency in Literature, Yaddo, 2005
  • Finalist, Schaeffer Fellowship, International Institute of Modern Letters, Department of English, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, 2005
  • Finalist, Fiction Prize (judged by Rick Moody), Indiana Review, 2005
  • Pushcart Prize, 2005
  • Third Prize, College Fiction Contest, Playboy, 2004