Cultural and Social Studies

Annual Banquet 2014

From Left: Sociology Alums Kimberly Cabriales, Jessica Ploen, Associate Professor Dawn Irlbeck, Criminal Justice Alum Ryan Vacanti

Contact Us

Department of
Cultural and Social Studies
2500 California Plaza
Creighton Hall 437
Omaha, NE 68178

Please visit individual pages for exact office numbers.

Sociology, Anthropology, Justice and Society, and Social Work offices are located in Creighton Hall. Health Administration and Policy is located in Eppley.

2015 Alum Earns Film Award!

Congratulations to our own NICO SANDI! The current CU Intern and 2015 CSS Alum filmed an incredible story about the current state of the death penalty in Nebraska. "Stones" won First Place as well as the Audience Choice award at the Voices from the Margins film contest. His film was shown to the Ignatian Family Teach In for Justice to an audience of about 1500. We are proud of Nico and awaiting his next accomplishments. View the film here:


News and Events

Welcome new faculty Dr. Pamela Runestad and Ms. Monica White! Dr. Runestad will be teaching interdisplinary courses for our programs. Ms. White will be our new Social Work Practicum Coordinator.

Medical Anthropology Gaduate Augusta Herman received the Spirit of Creighton Award at Commencement. We are proud colleagues!

The class of 2015 has set the bar high for post-graduate plans! Check out all they are doing.


Information sessions Wednesday, October 7th in CRHL 437 at 7pm and Monday, October 12 at 4:30pm

Travel to Haiti! Learn about Public Health and Social Justic with Drs. Bergman and Heinemann next summer! They have creaed a Faculty Led Program Abroad to Haiti that will take place for the FIRST time June 2016. Stop by and talk to them at the Study Abroad Fair Wednesday, September 9th, or email them for more information!

Welcome to the Department of Cultural and Social Studies



New Course with Dr. Murray! Tuesdays & Thursdays 2:00 - 3:15pm

SOC/ANT/EVS/AMS/WGS 323 - Crime, Victimization, and the Urban Environment

It's like the real life version of "Crimes" Against Humanity. This is your class if you care about who and what is victimized, how, what happens to victims, and how can we as a society do better. Bonus: Counts for MAGIS Core - Doing Social Science credit! Learn more about the dynamic, social context, and research behind issues such as violence, inequality, police-community clashes, race, and gender dynamics. 

ANT/SOC/EVS 425: What's for Dinner, Honey? Dr. Dilly's wildly popular food course debuted in Fall 2015 and is so popular we are doing it again in Spring! This class meets at the CUMC Cardiac Center one night a week. Learn about perspectives on food from around the world and sample some of Dr. Dilly's famous cooking!

March 2015: Society for Applied Anthropology Conference included presentations by several Medical Anthropology seniors. Their post-Creighton plans included Masters of Public Health programs, and service missions in student ministry. From left: Augusta Herman, Chaitri Desai, Sarah Kelly, and Melanie Kim.

Our Mission

The Department of Cultural and Social Studies houses the disciplines of sociology and anthropology as well as the independent interdisciplinary programs of Social Work, Health Administration and Policy, and Justice and Peace Studies. We strive to achieve the unique goals and objectives for each of our areas of study while also reflecting the goals of Creighton's Jesuit Catholic mission. We as faculty are dedicated to research, teaching and service. Our special contribution to student centered learning is increasing our students' awareness of society and culture as contexts that shape the quality of human life. All of our programs aim to develop students as agents of social change through close collaboration in student research, service and learning.  We are an integrated department, assisting students as they prepare for a variety of careers.