Close Menu

Phi Sigma Tau

Phi Sigma Tau

National Honor Society in Philosophy
Creighton University, Nebraska Beta Chapter

Phi Sigma Tau was founded at Muhlenberg College in 1930 as Alpha Kappa Alpha, with chapters at colleges in Maryland and Pennsylvania.  It remained in this regional status until October of 1955, when it was incorporated as Phi Sigma Tau, a National Honor Society in Philosophy.  Its essential purpose was and is to promote ties among philosophy departments in accredited institutions and students in philosophy nationally.  Both on the local and national levels, Phi Sigma Tau considers its organization as instrumental:  a means for developing and honoring academic excellence as well as philosophical interest.  In addition to providing a means of awarding distinction to students having high scholarship and interest in philosophy, the Society also promotes interest in philosophy among the general collegiate public.

Phi Sigma Tau Emblem

The Society's Emblem

The Society's emblem is a pentagon with the letters Phi Sigma Tau at the center.  Each of the angles contains a word representing one of the five streams of world thought:  Chinese, Indian, Islamic, Hebrew, and Greek.  The seal of the Society is the reverse side of the Athenian silver tetradrachma (B.C. 480-400), which bears the owl, olive spray, and small crescent.  The margin of the seal carries the legend, Phi Sigma Tau, 1930.

Application Requirements

  • Completion of one year of full-time study (or equivalent) and at least three philosophy courses
  • Attainment of a QPA of 3.5 or better in the philosophy courses you have completed to date
  • Attainment of a ranking in the upper one-third of your graduating class


For more information, please contact Marc Johansen, PhD ( or Jacob Rump, PhD (

Contact Information

Creighton University
Department of Philosophy
Dowling Hall (Humanities Building) 1st Floor
2500 California Plaza
Omaha, NE 68178 USA

Chloe Meyer
Administrative Assistant
Phone: 402.280.2834
Fax: 402.280.3359
Office: DHHC 105