Close Menu

Gold Humanism Honor Society

The Creighton University School of Medicine GHHS Chapter was established in 2004 with the support of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation. 

Inspiration for the GHHS began in the late 1990s, when medical educators and residency program directors expressed the need for a mechanism to identify applicants for internships and residencies who have both outstanding clinical and interpersonal skills. Thanks to a series of grants from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, deans, medical educators, and experts in assessment were convened to explore and research the viability of an honor society to promote humanistic values and behaviors and transform the culture of medicine. Currently, the society has over 25,000 members in training and practice.


The mission of the Gold Humanism Honor Society established at the Creighton University School of Medicine is to promote humanism, humane conduct, and professionalism throughout the continuum of physician training from the first day in medical school until retirement from medical practice. Humanism is a core principle of the Ignatian philosophy at the foundation of the Creighton University mission. In accordance with its mission, the Creighton University Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society will recognize those medical students, resident physicians, and faculty members, who exemplify the qualities of the humanistic healer. Gold Humanism Honor Society members manifest:

  • Integrity, pursuit of truth, and sound moral reasoning that engenders the trust and confidence of others
  • Ability to learn from life experiences and commitment to self-evaluation, seeking and accepting criticism to improve performance
  • Promotion of justice and respect for others and for the inalienable worth of each individual, regardless of social, ethnic, religious, or cultural background or station of life
  • Compassion, empathy, and altruism including supportive advocacy for others, with special emphasis on care for the poor
  • Concern for the general welfare of the community and the society as a whole
  • Ability to maintain compassion, concern, respect, integrity, and commitment to humanistic goals despite adversity

Executive Committee/Chapter Members

The Executive Committee is made up of faculty who has been inducted in an administrative capacity and/or as a result of having been selected as a winner of the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award (which is sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation).  Winners of the Tow Award are automatically inducted into the GHHS Chapter at the subsequent annual induction banquet. 


Students are nominated by their peers and the School of Medicine faculty. Afterward, a committee meets to make the final selections. 10% of the class of students is inducted from each senior class.

Class of 2019

  • Gregory Aird
  • Donald  Mattia
  • Jenna Sitenga
  • Courtney Smith
  • Robert Windisch
  • Gregory Wittenburg
  • Leo Yamaguchi
  • Alexandra Abbate
  • Leena Adamian
  • Samantha Banks
  • Ferdinand Ross Cacho
  • Jonathan Ermer
  • Aaron  Fried
  • Dylan Goto
  • Kelsey Guerins
  • Michael Hagan
  • Juliana Kennedy
  • Sana Kiblinger
  • Kaysey Llorente
  • Thomas Munro
  • Benjamin Olsen
  • Sarah Sanders
  • Daniel VanDerhoef
  • Keith Vrbicky



  • Edward Paul
  • Venkata Giri Andukuri
  • Syed Faiz Qadri
  • Charles Youngblood



  • Bill Jacobsen
  • Daniel Mistrot

Class of 2018

  • Joseph Bowens
  • Charles Bettag
  • Mark Castera
  • Adam Fine
  • Sarah Pietruszka
  • Jeannie Ngo
  • Elida Voth
  • Ian Kozlowski
  • Krista Wiese
  • Leah Grant
  • Andrew Hasebroock
  • Kathryn Barta
  • Christina Murray
  • Lauren Glaser
  • Sanjali Kumar
  • Christine Kwon
  • Julie Ma
  • Margaret Tierney



  • Devin Fox, MD
  • Michael White, MD
  • Terrance Zach, MD
  • Randy Richardson, MD
  • John Hurley, MD



  • Peter Collister, MD
  • Felicia Ratnaraj, MD
  • Cameron Adler, MD
  • Shruti Mony, MD

Class of 2017

  • Taylor Bronson
  • Christopher DeVries
  • Daniel Dyer
  • Joel Fuchs
  • Russell Goldstein
  • Mitchell Kohl
  • Michelle Marieni
  • Daniel McDonald
  • Lauren Nicola
  • Lich Pham
  • Shelby Reiter
  • Lindsay Robinson
  • Jocelyn Wu
  • Joshua Blessing (Phoenix)
  • Victoria Darling (Phoenix)
  • Zakary Hambsch (Phoenix)
  • Nhu-Nguyen Le (Phoenix)
  • Benjamin Packard (Phoenix)



  • Robert Dunlay, MD (Dean)
  • Amy McGaha, MD
  • Michael Brady, MD (Phoenix)

Class of 2016

  • Briana Bruce
  • Gordon Chien
  • Becky Davies
  • Timothy Evans
  • Teresa Hanson
  • Daniel Janiczak
  • Justin McCarthy
  • Conor Merritt
  • Carter Mohnssen
  • Matthew Sall
  • Caleb Van Essen
  • Kelly Westhoff
  • Eric Wilkerson
  • Patrick Eiben (Phoenix)
  • Samantha Go (Phoenix)
  • Anna Jones (Phoenix)
  • Samuel Murray (Phoenix)
  • David Stuart (Phoenix)


House Staff

  • Harish Devineni, MD
  • John Franco, MD
  • Andrea Kinnan, MD
  • Heather Moline, MD
  • Vincent Gemma, MD (Phoenix)
  • Mohamed Zghouzi, MD (Phoenix)



  • Marcus Balters, MD
  • Sonal Haerter, MD (Phoenix)

Additional Awards

The Arnold P. Gold Foundation sponsors both the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award and the Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award. The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award is given to a student and a faculty member each year during the Hooding and Awards Ceremony. The Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award is given to outstanding residents who are chosen by our third year students based on their demonstrated commitment to teaching and compassionate treatment of patients and families, students and colleagues. See the Graduation Awards page for more information.

Ready to start your next steps?